Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Innovation Award Synchrotron Radiation

Current Prize Winner

Prof. Dr. Florian Grüner Innovationspreis Synchrotronstrahlung 2022/23 HZB - enlarged view

Prof. Dr. Florian Grüner (center) at the award ceremony of the Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation in Berlin-Adlershof on 22 June 2023 by the Chairman of the Friends of HZB, Prof. Dr. Mathias Richter (left), and Dr. Arik Willner of DESY, who gave the laudatory speech (Photo: Michael Setzpfandt).

The Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation 2022/23 was given to Prof. Dr. Florian Grüner from CFEL, DESY and the University of Hamburg. He received the prize for his achievements in the further development of in-situ and in-vivo tracking using X-ray fluorescence imaging (XFI). This pioneering work paves the way for the precise tracking of immune cells, biomolecules such as active substances, but also antibodies and drug carriers in order to measure their distribution in living organisms in real time. Dr. Arik Willner, Director of Technology at DESY, gave the laudatory speech at the award ceremony on 22 June 2023 in Berlin-Adlershof.

Previous award winners