Decommissioning and Dismantling

The Berlin experimental reactor BER II of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) reached the end of its planned lifecycle and was shut down permanently at the end of 2019. The date for its shutdown had been finalised by the HZB Supervisory Board in 2013.

Reaktorbecken BER II mit Kern, © HZB / B. Ludewig

Core and reactor basin in BER II, © HZB / B. Ludewig

This means that the dismantling stage for BER II is coming ever closer. There is a complex approval and participation process involved. Numerous detailed applications have to be written and submitted to the competent authorities for appraisal. Only with the official Decommissioning and Dismantling (D&D) Approval can dismantling of the reactor commence.

Future use of the experimental infrastructure

Some tasks will be able to be completed already outside the D&D Approval process. One example is taking down the experimental stations where researchers performed their experiments right up until the reactor was shut down. In the majority of cases, these stations will be sent to other research institutions for continued use. Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin is working to preserve and transfer its know-how in their experimental use.

Since the reactor shutdown, the fuel elements, which generated the neutrons for research operations up until December 2019, have been housed in the storage pool. Following receipt of the D&D Approval, they will be transported to the interim storage station Ahaus (“Transportbehälterlager Ahau, TBL-A”) as an important prerequisite for full dismantling of the reactor.

Dismantling until end of the 2020s

HZB’s dismantling team will spend the next few years developing the exact plans for the dismantling in every detail. Great importance must be given to the reactor pool and its technical components. The current plans involve disassembling the components in the reactor pool under water and appropriately packing them for final storage.  Then, the pool structure itself will be dismantled using special concrete saws. Those parts of the concrete that were in proximity to the reactor core will have to be taken to the repository pit for medium and low level radioactive waste, the “Schacht Konrad”.

The plan is for BER II to be fully dismantled by the end of the 2020s.

Öffnet in neuem Fenster Opens in a new window Öffnet externe Seite Opens an external site Öffnet externe Seite in neuem Fenster Opens an external site in a new window

Der Rückbau

Der Berliner Experimentierreaktor BER II des Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) ist Ende 2019 planmäßig und endgültig abgeschaltet worden. Grundlage dafür war ein Beschluss des HZB-Aufsichtsrates aus dem Jahre 2013.

Reaktorbecken BER II mit Kern, © HZB / B. Ludewig

Reaktorbecken BER II mit Kern, © HZB / B. Ludewig

Der vom HZB angestrebte Rückbau des BER II rückt damit näher. Dafür ist ein komplexer Genehmigungs- und Beteiligungsprozess erforderlich. Es gilt, dafür umfangreiche Anträge zu schreiben, sie bei den zuständigen Behörden einzureichen und von diesen prüfen zu lassen. Erst die behördliche Stilllegungs- und Abbaugenehmigung bedeutet grünes Licht für den Abbau des Reaktors.

Experimentiereinrichtungen weiter nutzen

Einige Aufgaben werden schon vor der Erteilung der Genehmigung erledigt. Etwa der Abbau der Experimente, mit denen Forscherinnen und Forscher bis zum Betriebsende des Reaktors Versuche durchgeführt haben. Sie werden in den allermeisten Fällen an andere Forschungseinrichtungen zur weiteren Nutzung gegeben. Hier leistet das Helmholtz-Zentrum einen Beitrag zum Erhalt und Transfer unseres Know-Hows.

Die Brennelemente, die bis Dezember 2019 die Neutronen für den Forschungsbetrieb erzeugt haben, befinden sich nach dem Abschalten des Reaktors im Absetzbecken. Ihr Abtransport in das Zwischenlager Ahaus („Transportbehälterlager Ahaus - TBL-A“) ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, damit – nach Erteilung der Stilllegungs- und Abbaugenehmigung – der vollständige Rückbau des Reaktors erfolgen kann.

Abbau bis Ende 2020er Jahre

Die konkreten Pläne für den Rückbau wird das Rückbauteam des HZB in den kommenden Jahren detailliert ausarbeiten. Große Bedeutung kommt dabei dem Reaktorbecken mit seinen technischen Einbauten zu. Nach dem derzeitigen Stand der Planungen sollen die Einbauten im Reaktorbecken unter Wasser zerlegt und für die Endlagerung fachgerecht verpackt werden. Anschließend soll das Becken mit speziellen Betonsägen zerlegt werden. Teile des Betons, die sich in der Nähe des Reaktorkerns befunden haben, müssen dann in das Endlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle „Schacht Konrad“ gebracht werden.

Geplant ist, dass der BER II Ende der 2020er Jahre abgebaut ist.