meV-RIXS

What can you do with the new beamline?

The M-edges of transition metals, the N-edges of rare earths, and the L-edges of silicon, phosphorus, and sulphur will be accessible with the meV-RIXS setup at the UE112-PGM1. The world’s highest resolution of a few meV over the range of 30–200 eV allows the study of scientifically important mixed-valence functional materials, as well as photo and electrochemical entities.

What is new about it?

meV-RIXS at BESSY II accesses for the first time the parameter space of single meV resolution over the previously unexplored spectral region of 30–200 eV. meV-RIXS is fully complementary in its energy range and resolution to other state-of-the-art high-resolution RIXS spectrometers in the energy range of 300–2,000 eV and bandwidth of 10–100 meV.

What is the goal?

The objective of the meV-RIXS project is to establish low-energy RIXS methods as well as to perform complementary studies of the high valence states for transition metals and rare earth elements in the previously unexplored spectral region of 30–200 eV.

About the project

The functionality, chemical selectivity, and reaction speed of materials are determined by the coupling of low-energy excitations of spin, orbital, and lattice degrees of freedom. meV-RIXS opens up a new approach by bringing the outstanding selectivity of RIXS with respect to elemental composition, chemical state, orbital polarisation, and electronic and magnetic excitations to the energy region of a few meV.

It therefore closes a gap in the performance between conventional q-resolved RIXS measurements in the keV region with a spectral bandwidth between 10–100 meV and inelastic neutron scattering (INS). While the latter method attains sub-meV resolution with spin selectivity, it is requires large sample volumes and does not provide elemental, chemical, or orbital selectivity.

With this new setup, we will achieve world-leading resolution of a few meV at the M-edges of transition metals, the N-edges of the rare earths, the L-edges of silicon, phosphorus, sulphur, and chlorine as well as the K-edges of carbon and boron. Scientifically important mixed-valence functional materials, photochemical and electrochemical entities, as well as organic materials will become accessible at an energy scale of a few meV in combination with the unique selectivity of RIXS with regard to elemental composition, chemical state, orbital polarisation, and magnetic excitations.

Spectrometer resolution

Transmission and resolving power E/dE for the 1,050 l/mm grating of the meV-RIXS spectrometer.

meV-RIXS

Was macht man mit der neuen Beamline?

Mit dem meV-RIXS setup and der UE112-PGM1 werden die M-Kanter der Übergangsmetalle, die N-Kanten der Seltenen Erden und die L-Kanten von Silizium, Phosphor and Schwefel zugänglich. Die weltweit führende Auflösung von wenigen meV im Bereich 30 - 200 eV ermöglicht die Untersuchung von wissensschaftlich hochrelevanten gemischtvalenten funktionellen Materialien und photo- und elektrochemischen Einheiten.

Was ist daran neu?

meV-RIXS bei BESSY II erschließt erstmals den Parameterraum einzelner meV Auflösung im bisher unerforschten Spektralbereich von 30 - 200 eV. meV-RIXS ist vollständig komplementär in Energiebereich und Auflösung zu anderen State-of-the-Art hochauflösenden RIXS Spektrometern im Energiebereich 300-2000 eV bei 10-100meV Bandbreite.

Was ist das Ziel?

Das Ziel des meV-RIXS Projekts ist die Etablierung von niederenergetischem RIXS sowie die komplementäre Untersuchung der hohen Valenzzustände in Übergangsmetallen und seltenen Erden im bisher unerforschten Spektralbereich von 30 - 200 eV.

Über das Projekt

Funktionalität sowie chemische Selektivität und Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit von Materialien wird durch die Kopplung von niederenergetischen Anregungen von Spin-, Orbital- und Gitterfreiheitsgraden bestimmt. meV-RIXS eröffnet hier einen neuen Ansatz und kombiniert die hervorragende Selektivität von RIXS in Bezug auf elementare Zusammensetzung, chemischen Zustand, orbitale Polarisation, elektronische und magnetische Anregungen im Energiebereich einiger meV.

meV-RIXS schließt damit die Leistungslücke zu den etablierten Messungen von q-aufgelöstem RIXS im keV-Bereich mit einer spektralen Bandbreite zwischen 10-100 meV und inelastischer Neutronenstreuung (INS), welche sub-meV Auflösung mit Spin-Selektivität erreicht, aber auf große Probenvolumina angewiesen ist und keine elementare, chemische oder orbitale Selektivität erlaubt.

Mit diesem Setup werden wir weltweit führende Auflösung von wenigen meV an den M-Kanten der Übergangsmetalle, den N-Kanten der Seltenen Erden, den L-Kanten von Silizium, Phosphor, Schwefel und Chlor sowie der Kohlenstoff und Bor-K-Kanten erreichen. Wissenschaftlich hoch relevante gemischtvalente funktionelle Materialien sowie (Foto und elektro-) chemische Einheiten und organischen Materialien werden auf einer Energieskala von wenigen meV in Kombination mit der einzigartigen Selektivität von RIXS in Bezug auf elementare Komposition, chemischen Zustand, orbital Polarisation und magnetischen Anregungen zugänglich.

Spectrometer resolution

Transmission und Auflösungsvermögen E/dE fuer das 1050 l/mm Gitter des meV-Spektrometers.