Beamline ENERGIZE the photoelectron spectroscopy beamline for energy materials

New research infrastructure for energy materials in energy-efficient technologies

What can you do with the new beamline?

The beamline makes light ranging from vacuum-ultraviolet to soft X-rays available that can be used for carrying out photoelectron and X-ray absorption spectroscopy at the attached instrument platform.

What is new about it?

The intensity of the light directed on the sample being studied can be varied over many orders of magnitude so that even insulating layers can be investigated – which is hardly possible at other synchrotron experimental setups at present.

What is the goal?

The composition and electronic structure of modern energy materials will be investigated to provide important insight into how to utilise these materials for achieving extremely high energy efficiencies in novel electronic devices, such as new types of light-emitting diodes, solar cells, and transistors.

Schematic representation of the beamline.

The goal of the ENERGIZE project

The goal of the ENERGIZE project at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin is to accelerate research on modern materials for electronics and optoelectronics through collaboration with the Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences (IRIS) Adlershof of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU) using a facility custom-designed for this purpose. This collaboration will focus especially on types of materials that will facilitate future energy-efficient technologies.

The extremely brilliant light of the BESSY II synchrotron provides the vital tool necessary for this purpose. Together with the ENERGIZE beamline and the instrument platform optimized for electronic materials, it provides scientists with the best access to insight about the electronic properties of complex materials through photoemission spectroscopy. BESSY II offers the highest quality light, particularly in the vacuum-ultraviolet and soft X-ray regime.

As part of the Renewable Energies Division of HZB, the Molecular Systems joint research group will be in charge of ENERGIZE. The scientific subjects that users can address through ENERGIZE is extensive; here a few examples:

  1. the fundamental electronic structure of new materials, such as perovskites and 2D semiconductors;
  2. optimization of interfaces in light-emitting diodes, solar cells, and photo-electrochemical components for generating storable fuels;
  3. electronic properties of optoelectronic components printed in normal air.

Project Manager Prof. Norbert Koch (HZB & HU) sees enormous potential for the new ENERGIZE research infrastructure:

"The strategically positioned ENERGIZE project with its investment of more than 1.2 million Euros will strengthen cutting-edge research in Berlin on the one hand, and on the other attract a broad international user group. This will provide the HZB and the collaborating institutions with continuous research stimuli.”

 

The Beamline

Centrepiece of the new beamline is a dipole PGM (plane-grating monochromator) that facilitates optimal measurements in the energy range of 20–1,500 eV (cf. Fig. 1). This energy range is especially well-suited for photoelectron spectroscopy in the VUV (UPS) and X-ray regime (XPS), as well as for X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS). Additionally, a specialised setup facilitates studies of samples that are sensitive to radiation by limiting current densities to less than 5 pA/cm².

The Instrument Platform

The ENERGIZE instrument platform is designed for a broad operating range to satisfy the diverse requirements of its users. It offers the opportunity to study samples prepared ex situ using various spectroscopic measurement techniques under ultra-high-vacuum (UPS, XPS, ARPES, and XAS).

In addition, various means are provided for preparation of samples in situ. These include ion-sputtering, sample heating, and deposition of organic and inorganic materials (cf. Fig. 2).

Fig. 2 (© ScientaOmicron): simplified schematic representation of the ENERGIZE instrument platform. A) Analysis chamber, B) Upper preparation chamber, C) Handling chamber, D) & E) Vapor deposition, F) Airlock, G) Sample rack/repository/depot/feed/entry/portal/tray, H) safety interlock, I) hemispherical electron analyzer.

Beamline ENERGIZE

Neue Forschungsinfrastruktur für hybride Materialien und energieeffiziente Technologien

Was macht man mit der neuen Beamline?

Die Beamline stellt das Licht (von Vakuum-Ultravioletten bis zur weichen Röntgenstrahlung) zur Verfügung, das zur Durchführung von Photoelektronen- und Röntgenabsorptionsspektroskopie in der angeschlossenen Endstation genutzt wird.

Was ist daran neu?

Die Lichtintensität auf der zu untersuchenden Probe kann über viele Größenordnungen so variiert werden, dass sogar Isolatorschichten untersucht werden können, was kaum an einem anderen Synchrotron derzeit möglich ist.

Was ist das Ziel?

Mit hilfe von ENERGIZE wird die Zusammensetzung und elektronische Struktur von modernen Energiematerialien aufgeklärt, was wichtige Erkenntnisse zur Verwendung dieser Materialien in neuartigen Bauelementen (z. B. in neuen Leuchtdioden, Solarzellen, Transistoren) mit extrem hoher Energieeffizienz liefert.

Schematische Darstellung Beamline

Schematische Darstellung der Beamline

Das Ziel des Projekts ENERGIZE

Das Ziel des Projekts ENERGIZE am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin ist es, im Rahmen einer Kooperation mit dem Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences (IRIS) Adlershof der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin die Forschung an modernen Materialien für die Elektronik und Optoelektronik mit einer dafür maßgeschneiderten Anlage voranzutreiben. Dabei sind besonders solche Materialien im Fokus, die künftige energieeffiziente Technologien ermöglichen.

Das extrem brillante Röntgenlicht am Synchrotron BESSY II liefert zu diesem Zweck die notwendigen Grundvoraussetzungen. Sie ermöglicht zusammen mit der ENERGIZE-Beamline und der für elektronische Materialien optimierten Endstation Wissenschaftlern den besten Zugang zum Verständnis der elektronischen Eigenschaften komplexer Materialklassen und –systeme mittels Photoemissionsspektroskopie. BESSY II bietet hier besonders im vakuum-ultravioletten Spektralbereich und im Bereich weicher weichen Röntgenstrahlung höchste Qualität.

Federführend wird ENERGIZE von der gemeinsamen Forschergruppe "Molekulare Systeme" des Bereichs Erneuerbare Energien des HZB betreut. Die wissenschaftlichen Themenfelder, die Nutzer an ENERGIZE bearbeiten können, reichen weit:

1. von grundlegender Forschung zur elektronischen Struktur neuer Materialien, wie beispielsweise Perowskiten und 2D Halbleitern.

2. Außerdem über die Optimierung von Grenzflächen in Leuchtdioden, Solarzellen und photoelektrochemischen Elementen zur Erzeugung speicherbare Brennstoffe.

3. Und bis hin zu an Luft gedruckten opto-elektronischen Bauelementen.

Projektleiter Prof. Norbert Koch (HZB & HU) sieht dazu enormes Potenzial durch die neue ENERGIZE Forschungsinfrastruktur:

Durch das strategisch angelegte Projekt ENERGIZE mit einem Investitionsvolumen von über 1,2 Millionen EUR wird einerseits die Spitzenforschung am Standort Berlin gestärkt und andererseits eine breite internationale Nutzerschaft angezogen. Dadurch erhalten das HZB und die kooperierenden Institutionen auch stets höchstaktuelle Forschungsimpulse.“

Beamline

Herzstück der neuen Beamline ist ein Dipol-PGM (plane-grating Monochromator), welcher optimale Messungen im Energiebereich von 20 eV bis 1500 eV ermöglicht (vgl. Bild 1). Dieser Energiebereich ist besonders für Photoelektronen-Spektroskopie im VUV Bereich (UPS) und Röntgenbereich (XPS), sowie für Röntgen-Absorptionsspektrokopie (XAS) geeignet. Zusätzlich ermöglicht ein spezieller Aufbau Untersuchungen an strahlungsempfindlichen Proben durch eine optionale Anpassung der Probenstromdichte auf unter 5 pA/cm².

Endstation

Die ENERGIZE Endstation ist für einen breiten Nutzerbetrieb optimiert, so dass sie den daraus resultierenden mannigfaltigen Anforderungen gerecht wird. Sie bietet die Möglichkeit ex situ präparierte Proben mit verschiedenen spektroskopischen Messmethoden um Ultrahochvakuum zu untersuchen (UPS, XPS, ARPES, XAS).

Zusätzlich sind verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur in situ Probenpräparation vorgesehen. Sie beinhaltet u.a. eine Ionenstrahlreinigung, Probenheizung und Deposition (Verdampfen/Sublimieren) von organischen und anorganischen Materialien (vgl. Bild 2).

Vereinfachte schematische Darstellung der ENERGIZE Endstation

Bild 2 (© ScientaOmicron): Vereinfachte schematische Darstellung der ENERGIZE Endstation A) Analysekammer, B) Obere Präparationskammer C) Handling Kammer D&E) Verdampfer F) Schleuse G) Probenarsenal H) Sicherungssystem I) Hemisphärischer Elektronenanalysator.