Strategy HZB 2020+

In the HZB 2020+ strategy process, HZB has honed its scientific profile. The goals we have identified already embody the guidelines for our research – and extend far beyond 2020. Our research focus is energy materials – with emphasis on thin-film technology.

Science Photowalk, 2012, HZB - Adlershof - BESSY II;

Photo: J. Neuner

The keys to success are:

  • Operating the photon source BESSY II in the vacuum ultraviolet (VUV) and soft X-ray energy range, and an outstanding instrumental setup on the beamlines, tailored to the needs of our users;
  • Upgrading BESSY II into a variable-pulse-length storage ring (BESSY VSR); and
  • Establishing new central laboratories for the analysis and, increasingly, the synthesis of energy materials for the international research community, in particular on the Wannsee campus.

Also stipulated by the HZB supervisory board and in the strategic papers is the shutdown of the neutron source BER II at the end of 2019. Following the post-operational phase, it will be dismantled. Campus Wannsee will nevertheless remain the location for future HZB research infrastructures and already plays an important role in the expansion of energy materials research.

HZB also stands for successful promotion of young talent, as is clearly visible, among other things, from the young investigator groups and junior professorships, our summer and winter schools, and the summer student programme. 

HZB trains highly sought-after experts and does everything to attract the best employees from Germany and abroad. Intercultural cooperation with international networks inspires the researchers at HZB in their work, thus leading to outstanding research results. In the scope of its strategic staff development, HZB promotes individual career paths of young employees internally and externally to HZB.

HZB is committed to the equality of men and women. Comprehensive services support the employees in finding a good balance between career and family. HZB has held the “Career and Family” certificate of the non-profit Hertie Foundation since 2011.

HZB actively promotes the networking of research and industry by running regional, national and international cooperative projects. We collaborate with universities in joint labs and employ institute heads and young investigator group heads in joint appointments with universities and technical colleges.

With the Competence Centre Thin-Film- and Nanotechnology for Photovoltaics Berlin (PVcomB), we offer companies and industrial partners a unique point of contact. In joint research and development projects, we sustainably promote technological advancements in the field of photovoltaics and solar fuels. We furthermore offer industrial partners access to diverse experimentation opportunities at the synchrotron source BESSY II, and promote technology transfer in accelerator development.

Strategie HZB 2020+

Im Strategieprozess HZB 2020+ hat das HZB sein wissenschaftliches Profil geschärft. Die Ziele, die wir identifiziert haben, sind bereits heute Leitlinien unserer Forschung – und reichen bis weit nach 2020 hinaus. Der Schwerpunkt unserer Forschung liegt auf Energie-Materialien– mit Fokus auf Dünnschichttechnologien.

Science Photowalk, 2012, HZB - Adlershof - BESSY II;

Foto: J. Neuner

Schlüssel für den Erfolg sind dabei:

  • der Betrieb der Photonenquelle BESSY II im Energiebereich der vakuumultravioletten (VUV) und weichen Röntgenstrahlung und eine herausragende, an die Bedürfnisse der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer angepasste Instrumentierung der Beamlines.
  • der Ausbau von BESSY II zu einem Speicherring mit variabler Pulslänge (BESSY VSR) sowie
  • der Aufbau neuer zentraler Labore für die Analytik und verstärkt für die Synthese von Energie-Materialien für die internationale Forschergemeinschaft, insbesondere am Standort Wannsee.

Vom Aufsichtsrat des HZB beschlossen und in den Strategiepapieren festgeschrieben ist zugleich die Abschaltung der Neutronenquelle BER II zum Ende 2019. Im Anschluss an die Nachbetriebsphase ist ihr Rückbau geplant. Der Campus Wannsee bleibt als Standort für zukünftige Forschungsinfrastrukturen des HZB erhalten und spielt bereits heute eine wichtige Rolle beim Ausbau der Energie-Material-Forschung.

Das HZB steht außerdem für eine erfolgreiche Nachwuchsförderung, die unter anderem durch Nachwuchsgruppen und Juniorprofessuren, unsere Sommer- und Winterschulen sowie das Sommerstudentenprogramm deutlich sichtbar ist.  

Das HZB bildet gefragte Fachkräfte aus und setzt sich dafür ein, die besten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus dem In- und Ausland zu gewinnen. Die interkulturelle Zusammenarbeit in internationalen Netzwerken inspiriert die Forscherinnen und Forschern am HZB bei ihrer Arbeit und führt zu hervorragenden Forschungsergebnissen. Das HZB fördert im Rahmen seiner strategischen Personalentwicklung individuelle Karrierewege von Nachwuchskräften innerhalb und außerhalb des HZB.

Das HZB setzt sich für die Gleichstellung von Männern und Frauen ein. Unterstützt werden die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter durch umfangreiche Angebote zur besseren Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Das HZB ist seit 2011 mit dem Zertifikat „berufundfamilie“ der gemeinnützigen Hertie-Stiftung ausgezeichnet.

Das HZB treibt die Vernetzung in der Forschung und Industrie durch regionale, nationale und internationale Kooperationen aktiv voran. Wir arbeiten in Joint Labs mit Universitäten zusammen und berufen Institutsleiterinnen und –leiter sowie Nachwuchsgruppenleiterinnen und –leiter gemeinsam mit Universitäten und Hochschulen.

Mit dem Kompetenzzentrum für Dünnschichtphotovoltaik (PVcomB) bieten wir Unternehmen und Industriepartnern eine einzigartige Anlaufstelle. In gemeinsamen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten treiben wir die Technologieentwicklung im Bereich der Photovoltaik und der solaren Brennstoffe nachhaltig voran. Darüber hinaus fördern wir den Technologietransfer auf dem Gebiet der Beschleunigerentwicklung.