History of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie

The HZB emerged from the amalgamation of the Hahn-Meitner Institute (HMI) and the Berliner Elektronen-Speicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung (organisation for conducting synchrotron radiation research using the BESSY II electron storage ring in Berlin). HZB began its history – or rather, its future – on January 1, 2009. Two institutions rich in tradition were amalgamated at that time, with two scientific locations remaining: Wannsee and Adlershof. The HZB has three areas of primary research today: Energy Materials, Renewable Energies, and research at large-scale facilities, all sharing a common scientific approach of researching thin-film technologies. The research is closely associated with the operation and advanced development of the BESSY II photon source.

The history:

The older of the two institutes, the Hahn-Meitner Institute (HMI), was founded in Wannsee in 1959. It was named after physicist Lise Meitner and chemist Otto Hahn, who both attended its dedication on March 14th. Willi Brandt, then mayor of Berlin, also attended and dedicated the centrepiece of the research centre at the time, the Berlin Experimental Reactor (BER I).

The Berliner Elektronen-Speicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung (BESSY) was founded twenty years later in 1979. The Max Planck Society was the largest shareholder, with the Hahn-Meitner Institute also a shareholder in BESSY from the beginning. The BESSY organisation operated the BESSY I electron storage ring facility in the Wilmersdorf section of Berlin from 1982 to 1999. At the time of its commissioning, this facility was the first dedicated synchrotron radiation source in Germany. The new high-brilliance BESSY II synchrotron radiation source began operating in September 1998 following four years' construction.

Historie Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie

Hervorgegangen ist das HZB aus der Fusion von Hahn-Meitner-Institut (HMI) und Berliner Elektronen-Speicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung (BESSY II). Am 1. Januar 2009 beginnt die Geschichte des HZB – oder vielmehr seine Zukunft. Damals wurden zwei traditionsreiche Institutionen zusammengefügt, und es blieben zwei wissenschaftliche Standorte bestehen: Wannsee und Adlershof. Heute hat das HZB drei Forschungsbereiche: Energie-Materialien, Erneuerbare Energien und Forschung mit Großgeräten, deren verbindender wissenschaftlicher Ansatz Dünnschichttechnologien sind. Die Forschung ist eng an den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung der Photonenquelle BESSY II geknüpft.

Zur Geschichte:

Das ältere der beiden Institute, das Hahn-Meitner-Institut (HMI), wurde im Jahr 1959 in Wannsee gegründet. Die Namensgeber, die Physikerin Lise Meitner und der Chemiker Otto Hahn, waren bei der Einweihungsfeier am 14. März anwesend. Auch der Regierende Bürgermeister Willi Brandt weihte das damalige Kernstück des Forschungszentrums, den „Berliner Experimentier-Reaktor“ BER I, mit ein.

Die Berliner Elektronen-Speicherring Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung (BESSY) wurde zwanzig Jahre später im Jahr 1979 gegründet – mit der Max-Planck Gesellschaft als größtem Gesellschafter. Das HMI war von Beginn an als Gesellschafter dabei. Von 1982 bis 1999 betrieb BESSY die Elektronenspeicherringanlage BESSY I in Berlin-Wilmersdorf: Diese Anlage war bei Inbetriebnahme die erste dedizierte Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle Deutschlands. Die neue Hochbrillanz-Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle BESSY II wurde nach vier Jahren Bauzeit im September 1998 in Betrieb genommen.