Research Prizes

Ernst-Eckhard-Koch-Preis

The Association of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin announces the "Ernst-Eckhard-Koch-Prize". The name of this prize which is awarded annually already since 1990 is in memory of the late scientific director of BESSY GmbH. It is bestowed for outstanding doctoral theses in the field of research with synchrotron radiation performed at either BESSY II or HASYLAB, Hamburg, which were completed during the current or past year. The Ernst-Eckhard-Koch-Prize includes a monetary award amounting to 2,500 Euro. 

Innovationspreis Synchrotronstrahlung

The Association of Friends of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin announces the bestowal of the Innovation-Award in the field of procurement and usage of synchrotron radiation. The award is to be granted for an excellent achievement which has contributed significantly to the further development of techniques, methods or uses of synchrotron radiation. Scientists and engineers from research institutions, universities, and industrial establishments within Europe are addressed. The Innovation-Award on Synchrotron Radiation includes a monetary prize of 3,000 Euro.

Guidelines for the prizes


The announcement of the prizes is made public at the homepage of the association ( http://www.helmholtz-berlin.de/freundeskreis)  as well as by direct e-mailing using the HZB userport BOAT. 

The prize winners are being proposed by the respective committees. Their members are being nominated by the chairman of the board of the association.

The selection is made on the basis of merit relevant criteria which are set forth by the committees. In principal the prizes can be divided. Working teams are eligible for the Innovation Award.

Bestowal of prizes

The prizes will be bestowed in a special session as part of the Users Meeting of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin. User Meetings will take place in December, the actual date being announced in time by the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie.

Forschungspreise

Ernst-Eckhard-Koch-Preis

In Erinnerung an den im September 1988 verstorbenen früheren wissenschaftlichen Geschäftsführer von BESSY, Prof. Dr. Ernst-Eckhard Koch, verleiht der Förderverein seit 1990 jährlich den Ernst-Eckhard-Koch-Preis, mit dem herausragende Doktorarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Synchrotronstrahlung ausgezeichnet werden. Die Doktorarbeiten sollen im Wesentlichen bei BESSY II oder dem HASYLAB/DESY Hamburg durchgeführt worden sein als den hauptsächlichen Wirkungsstätten von Ernst-Eckhard Koch. Der Preis ist mit 2500 Euro dotiert.

Innovationspreis Synchrotronstrahlung

Seit 2001 verleiht der Verein den europaweit ausgeschriebenen Innovationspreis Synchrotronstrahlung, der für eine herausragende, maßgeblich zur Weiterentwicklung der Technik, Methodik oder Nutzung von Synchrotronstrahlung beitragende Leistung vergeben wird. Der Preis ist mit 3000 Euro dotiert. Diese Ausschreibung richtet sich an Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure aus  europäischen Forschungseinrichtungen, Hochschulen und dem industriellen Bereich.

Vergaberichtlinien

Die Ausschreibung der Preise erfolgt u.a. über die allgemein zugängliche  Internetseite des Freundeskreises ( http://www.helmholtz-berlin.de/freundeskreis) im Rahmen des Internetauftritts des HZB sowie über das Nutzerportal BOAT.

Die Auswahl der Preisträger erfolgt  auf Vorschlag des jeweiligen Komitees, dessen Mitglieder über eine entsprechende Kompetenz verfügen. Die Mitglieder werden vom Vorsitzenden des Vorstands ernannt.

Die Auswahl erfolgt auf Grundlage leistungsbezogener Kriterien, die von dem Komitee festgelegt werden. Die Preise sind grundsätzlich teilbar. Mit dem Innovationspreis können auch Arbeitsgruppen ausgezeichnet werden.

Preisverleihung

Die Preisträger werden in einer besonderen Sitzung im Rahmen des Nutzertreffens des Helmholtz-Zentrums Berlin gewürdigt und die Preise überreicht. Die Bekanntgabe der Nutzertreffen (im Dezember) erfolgt frühzeitig durch das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie.