Energy Material Research

Energy materials refers to more than just solar cells that produce electricity from sunlight. Based on its existing competences, HZB has defined a whole series of material systems to include in its future research portfolio. Solar fuels, thermoelectric materials and topological insulators are just a few of them. These are materials that store or convert energy, or which can be used to develop new and energy-efficient information technology.

The recurring theme in HZB’s research is thin-film technology. We are forever expanding our expertise in existing thin-film photovoltaic systems, enriching our research with a wide range of analytical methods, on the large facilities especially, and with material synthesis and theory-based simulations.

Efficiency record for artificial photosynthesis

Water splitting in a tandem solar cell

With participation of the HZB, an international team has succeeded in considerably increasing the efficiency for direct solar water splitting for the first time since 17 years. The researchers were using a tandem solar cell whose surfaces had been selectively modified.

HEMF: New Helmholtz laboratory infrastructure

em-Energy Materials In situ Laboratory (EMIL) at BESSY II

The “Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry (HEMF)” is conceived as a cross-centre Helmholtz research infrastructure and a dedicated international user platform in the field of energy research. HEMF’s scientific focus is on solar fuels, solar cells, fuel cells, battery systems, and thermoelectric and thermochemical materials. The six centres involved in the project in the Helmholtz Association’s Energy research field are FZJ, HZB, HZG, HZDR, KIT and DLR. HZB is responsible for their coordination. The project has a total volume of 35.4 million euros.

New class of materials for organic electronics

Electron-hole pair

A cooperative between researchers of HZB, the University of Rostock, Freie Universität Berlin and other partners has figured out how charge transport works in polymeric carbon nitrides. These could make lowcost photocatalysts that promote the splitting of water with sunlight.

Energiematerial-Forschung

Energie-Materialien sind mehr als nur Solarzellen, mit denen man aus Sonnenlicht elektrischen Strom erzeugt. Das HZB hat eine ganze Reihe von Materialsystemen definiert, die ausgehend von den vorhandenen Kompetenzen das zukünftige Forschungsportfolio des Hauses ausmachen. Solare Brennstoffe, Thermoelektrika oder topologische Isolatoren gehören dazu. Es sind Materialien, die Energie speichern oder umwandeln oder die es erlauben, eine neue und energieeffiziente Informationstechnologie aufzubauen.

Der Fokus der HZB-Forschung liegt dabei immer auf Dünnschichttechnologien. Dabei erweitern wir unser Know-how aus der etablierten Dünnschicht-Photovoltaik und beziehen zusätzlich zu unseren vielfältigen Analysemöglichkeiten insbesondere an den Großgeräten auch die Synthese der Materialien sowie theoretisch abgeleitete Simulationen in unsere Forschung ein.

Künstliche Photosynthese mit Effieziensrekord

Wasserspaltung in einer Tandem-Solarzelle

Einem internationalen Team ist es mit Beteiligung des HZB gelungen, erstmals seit 17 Jahren den Wirkungsgrad für die direkte solare Wasserspaltung zu steigern. Die Forscher nutzten dafür eine Tandem-Solarzelle, deren Oberflächen sie gezielt modifiziert hatten.

HEMF: Neue Helmholtz-Laborplattform

em-Energy Materials In situ Laboratory (EMIL) an BESSY II

Die „Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry (HEMF)“ ist als zentrenübergreifende Helmholtz Forschungsinfrastruktur und dedizierte, internationale Nutzerplattform des Forschungsbereichs Energie konzipiert. Der wissenschaftliche Fokus von HEMF liegt auf den Themen solare Brennstoffe, Solarzellen, Brennstoffzellen, Batteriesysteme sowie thermoelektrische und thermochemische Materialien. An dem Vorhaben sind aus dem Forschungsbereich Energie der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft die sechs Zentren FZJ, HZB, HZG, HZDR, KIT und DLR beteiligt. Die Koordination liegt beim HZB. Das Vorhaben hat ein Gesamtvolumen von 35,4 Millionen Euro.

Neue Materialklassen für die organische Elektronik

Elektron-Loch-Paar

Eine Kooperation von Forschern des HZB, der Universität Rostock sowie der Freien Universität Berlin und anderer Partner hat herausgefunden, wie der Ladungstransport in polymeren Kohlenstoffnitriden funktioniert. Sie könnten als preisgünstiger Photokatalysator die Spaltung von Wasser mit Sonnenlicht befördern.