Requirements for activities in the controlled areas of the HZB

  • Performance of scientific experiments in the controlled areas of the HZB

  • Activity as external company in the controlled areas of the HZB

If you like to perform activities in the controlled areas of HZB as a measuring guest or employee of an external company, your delegating institute or your company needs an official permission according to § 15 of the Radiation Protection Ordinance (StrlSchV), if this activity can involve a radiation exposure of more than 1 mSv per calendar year. The permission shall be applied with the responsible supervisory and authorising agency. The appointment of an expert radiation protection officer is required for this. An officially registered radiation passport shall be maintained for each employee involved. You need to present this radiation passport and an official albedo dosimeter for registration. After the instruction, you will additionally get a non-official electronic dosimeter for direct individual reading.

The requirements mentioned above also apply to students and trainees. Participants of the neutron scattering courses and summer students are excluded. The participants of these activities will receive official and non-official dosimeters from the HZB. Furthermore, a certificate on previous exposure (HZB form) is to be sent. If own dosimeters and radiation passports should be available, these have to be brought along.  

Note: The classification as person exposed to radiation in occupation of category B is sufficient for the activity in the HZB. A medical examination is not required, unless it is demanded in the permission. Exemptions in the individual case shall be coordinated with personal dosimetry in the Central Radiation Protection Department. Contacts are Dr. Waldmann (8062 42960), in case of his absence Dr. Buchert (8062 42217) and for the Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen campus Dr. Ott (8062 12988).

Foreign measuring guests may be active if their exposure due to the activity, also in radiation protection areas of other facilities is less than 1mSv per calendar year.

Authorities for Berlin and Brandenburg responsible for granting permissions according to § 15 Radiation Protection Ordinance and registration of radiation passports:

 
State Berlin: Landesamt für Arbeitsschutz, Gesundheitsschutz und technische Sicherheit (LAGetSi)
Referat ID
Turmstraße 21,
10559 Berlin
Telefon 90254-5829
 
State Brandenburg: Landesamt für Arbeitsschutz
Regionalbereich West
Dienstort Potsdam
Max-Eyth-Allee 22
14469 Potsdam
Telefon: (0331) 28891-61 (Frau Ryle)
 
Please ask yourself for the authorities of other federal states!

Responsible radiation measuring bodies - nationwide:

 
State Berlin: Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung
Strahlenmessstelle
Rubensstraße 111
12157 Berlin
Telefon: (030) 90166-415, 416, 410, 413
Fax: (030) 90166-444
 
New federal states: Landesanstalt für Personendosimetrie und Strahlenschutzausbildung (LPS) des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Köpenicker Straße 325, Haus 41
12555 Berlin
Telefon: (030) 6576 3126
 
   Radiation passports are also available here.
 
NRW, Rhineland-Palatinate, Lower Saxony, Saarland, Bremen Personendosismessstelle
44285 Dortmund
Telefon: (0231) 4502 517
 

Excerpt from the Radiation Protection Ordinance:

§ 15 - Occupation in external plants or facilities subject to permission
(1) Those who employ persons under their supervision in external plants or facilities or perform tasks themselves and this may lead to an effective exposure of more than 1 mSv for these persons or themselves, is required to apply for a permission. 

(2) For activities according to clause 1 in plants or facilities dealing with radioactive substances, § 9 clause 1 No. 1 to 5 shall be applicable accordingly and for activities according to clause 1 in connection with the operation of facilities for the generation of ionising radiation, § 14 clause 1 No. 1 to 5 shall be applicable accordingly. 

(3) In case of activities according to clause 1, the instructions of the responsible person for radiation protection and the radiation protection officer of the plant or facility which are given in performing their obligations according to § 33 shall be followed. The owner of a permit according to clause 1 shall provide that persons employed under his supervision observe the instructions of the responsible person for radiation protection and the radiation protection officer of the plants or facilities.

§ 9 - Requirements of permission for dealing with radioactive substances
(1) The permission according to § 7 clause 1 shall be granted, if 

1. no facts and circumstances exist which result in concerns regarding the reliability of the applicant, his/her legal representative, or in case of legal entities or body of persons not vested with legal capacity, of the persons authorised for representation or management by law, by-laws or articles of association, and, if no radiation protection officer is required, if the applicant has the required expertise in radiation protection,

2. no facts and circumstances exist which result in concerns regarding the reliability of the radiation protection officers and they have the required expertise in radiation protection,

3. the required number of radiation protection officers is available for safe performance and the authorities required for performing their tasks has been granted to them,

4. it is ensured that the other persons involved have the required knowledge on possible radiation hazards and the protective measures to be applied, 

5. it is ensured that such equipment is available and such measures have been taken, which are required according to the state of scientific and technical knowledge so that the protective provisions are met.

(§ 14 correspondingly says).

Voraussetzungen für Tätigkeiten in Kontrollbereichen des HZB

  • Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Experimente in Kontrollbereichen des HZB

  • Tätigkeit als Fremdfirma in Kontrollbereichen des HZB

Wenn Sie als Messgast oder Mitarbeiter einer Fremdfirma in den Kontrollbereichen des HZB tätig werden wollen, benötigt Ihr entsendendes Institut oder Ihre Firma eine behördliche Genehmigung gemäß § 15 der Strahlenschutzverordnung (StrlSchV), falls diese Tätigkeit mit einer Strahlenbelastung von mehr als 1 mSv pro Kalenderjahr verbunden sein kann. Die Genehmigung ist bei der zuständigen Aufsichts- und Genehmigungsbehörde zu beantragen. Voraussetzung ist, dass ein entsprechend fachkundiger Strahlenschutzbeauftragter bestellt ist.Für jeden betreffenden Mitarbeiter ist ein Strahlenpass zu führen, der behördlich registriert sein muss. Zur Anmeldung müssen Sie diesen Strahlenpass und ein amtliches Albedodosimeter vorlegen. Sie bekommen nach der Unterweisung zusätzlich ein selbst ablesbares, nichtamtliches, elektronisches Dosimeter.

Das oben genannte gilt auch für Studenten und Praktikanten. Ausgenommen sind Teilnehmer der Neutronenstreukurse und Sommerstudenten. Die Teilnehmer an diesen Veranstaltungen erhalten vom HZB amtliche und nicht amtliche Dosimeter. Außerdem ist eine Vordosisbescheinigung (Formular vom HZB) einzusenden. Sollten eigene Dosimeter und Strahlenpässe vorhanden sein, sind diese mitzubringen.

Hinweis: Für die Tätigkeit im HZB reicht die Einstufung als beruflich strahlenexponierte Person der Kategorie B. Eine ärztliche Untersuchung ist nicht erforderlich, es sei denn, sie wird in der Genehmigung gefordert. Ausnahmen sind im Einzelfall vorher mit der Personendosimetrie der Zentralabteilung Strahlenschutz abzusprechen. Ansprechpartner sind Hr. Dr. Waldmann (8062 42960) in dessen Abwesenheit Hr. Dr. Buchert (8062 42217) und für den Campus Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen Hr. Dr. Ott (8062 12988).

Ausländische Messgäste dürfen ohne Genehmigung tätig werden, wenn ihre Strahlenbelastung durch die Tätigkeit auch in Strahlenschutzbereichen anderer Einrichtungen weniger als 1mSv im Kalenderjahr beträgt.

Für das Erteilen von Genehmigungen gemäß § 15 StrlSchV und das Registrieren von Strahlenpässen zuständige Behörden für Berlin und Brandenburg:

 
Land Berlin: Landesamt für Arbeitsschutz, Gesundheitsschutz und technische Sicherheit (LAGetSi)
Referat ID
Turmstraße 21,
10559 Berlin
Telefon 90254-5829
 
Land Brandenburg: Landesamt für Arbeitsschutz
Regionalbereich West
Dienstort Potsdam
Max-Eyth-Allee 22
14469 Potsdam
Telefon: (0331) 28891-61 (Frau Ryle)
 
Die Behörden anderer Länder bitte selbst erfragen!

Zuständige Strahlenmessstellen bundesweit:

 
Land Berlin: Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung
Strahlenmessstelle
Rubensstraße 111
12157 Berlin
Telefon: (030) 90166-415, 416, 410, 413
Fax: (030) 90166-444
 
Neue Bundesländer: Landesanstalt für Personendosimetrie und Strahlenschutzausbildung (LPS) des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Köpenicker Straße 325, Haus 41
12555 Berlin
Telefon: (030) 6576 3126
 
  Hier sind auch Strahlenpässe erhältlich.
 
NRW, Rheinland-Pfalz, Niedersachsen, Saarland, Bremen Personendosismessstelle
44285 Dortmund
Telefon: (0231) 4502 517
 

Auszug aus der Strahlenschutzverordnung:

§ 15 - Genehmigungsbedürftige Beschäftigung in fremden Anlagen oder Einrichtungen

(1) Wer in fremden Anlagen oder Einrichtungen unter seiner Aufsicht stehende Personen beschäftigt oder Aufgaben selbst wahrnimmt und dies bei diesen Personen oder bei sich selbst im Kalenderjahr zu einer effektiven Dosis von mehr als 1 Millisievert führen kann, bedarf der Genehmigung.

(2) Bei Beschäftigungen nach Absatz 1 in Anlagen oder Einrichtungen, in denen mit radioaktiven Stoffen umgegangen wird, ist § 9 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 bis 5, bei Beschäftigungen nach Absatz 1 im Zusammenhang mit dem Betrieb von Anlagen zur Erzeugung ionisierender Strahlen ist § 14 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 bis 5 entsprechend anzuwenden.

(3) Bei Beschäftigungen nach Absatz 1 ist den Anordnungen des Strahlenschutzverantwortlichen und der Strahlenschutzbeauftragten der Anlage oder Einrichtung, die diese in Erfüllung ihrer Pflichten nach § 33 treffen, Folge zu leisten. Der Inhaber einer Genehmigung nach Absatz 1 hat dafür zu sorgen, dass die unter seiner Aufsicht beschäftigten Personen die Anordnungen der Strahlenschutzverantwortlichen und Strahlenschutzbeauftragten der Anlagen oder Einrichtungen befolgen.

§ 9 - Genehmigungsvoraussetzungen für den Umgang mit radioaktiven Stoffen

(1) Die Genehmigung nach § 7 Abs. 1 ist zu erteilen, wenn

1. keine Tatsachen vorliegen, aus denen sich Bedenken gegen die Zuverlässigkeit des Antragstellers, seines gesetzlichen Vertreters oder, bei juristischen Personen oder nicht rechtsfähigen Personenvereinigungen, der nach Gesetz, Satzung oder Gesellschaftsvertrag zur Vertretung oder Geschäftsführung Berechtigten ergeben, und, falls ein Strahlenschutzbeauftragter nicht notwendig ist, der Antragsteller die erforderliche Fachkunde im Strahlenschutz besitzt,

2. keine Tatsachen vorliegen, aus denen sich Bedenken gegen die Zuverlässigkeit der Strahlenschutzbeauftragten ergeben, und sie die erforderliche Fachkunde im Strahlenschutz besitzen,

3. die für eine sichere Ausführung des Umgangs notwendige Anzahl von Strahlenschutzbeaufragten vorhanden ist und ihnen die für die Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben erforderlichen Befugnisse eingeräumt sind,

4. gewährleistet ist, dass die bei dem Umgang sonst tätigen Personen die notwendigen Kenntnisse über die mögliche Strahlengefährdung und die anzuwendenden Schutzmaßnahmen besitzen,

5. gewährleistet ist, dass bei dem Umgang die Ausrüstungen vorhanden und die Maßnahmen getroffen sind, die nach dem Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik erforderlich sind, damit die Schutzvorschriften eingehalten werden.

(§ 14 lautet sinngemäß).