What does BESSY II have to offer?

BESSY II

Interior view of BESSY II hall

BESSY II offers extremely brilliant synchrotron light pulses in the terahertz range to the visible spectrum all the way to hard X-rays, with an emphasis on the soft X-ray range. At each of the beamlines' experimental stations, researchers are able to adjust wavelength, polarization, and photon energy so as to examine their samples at spatial resolutions in the nanometer range (10-9 meters). In addition, the ultrashort light pulses offer insights into the dynamics of ultrafast reactions in the femtosecond range (10-15 seconds).

Each year, BESSY II attracts some 2,500 scientists from Germany and abroad who appreciate the large-scale equipment for its exceptional reliability. These users help shape BESSY II's profile. An important role in all this is played by institutional users like the Max Planck Society, the Federal Institute for Material Research, and other research groups that are part of the collaborative. As such, because of the activities of the Physical Technical Federal Institute, BESSY II has become the European radiation norm for light source and detector calibration.

HZB experts are continually helping to refine the large-scale equipment. As of fall 2012, during operation, electron packets can be shot out every 30 to 60 seconds in top up mode. A new LINAC type pre-accelerator was incorporated for this purpose. In addition, the beamline is adjusted 150 times per second using fast orbit feedback. These measures help improve the sensitive X-ray optics' stability while ensuring a near constant light intensity.

Was leistet BESSY II?

BESSY II

BESSY II Halle innen

BESSY II liefert extrem brillante Synchrotronlichtpulse vom Terahertz-Bereich über das sichtbare Spektrum bis zur harten Röntgenstrahlung, mit einem Schwerpunkt im weichen Röntgenbereich. An den Experimentierplätzen der 50 Strahlrohre (Beamlines) können die Forscher Wellenlänge, Schwingungsrichtung (Polarisation) und Energie der Photonen einstellen und so ihre Proben mit räumlichen Auflösungen bis in den Nanometerbereich (10-9 Meter) untersuchen. Zudem ermöglichen die ultrakurzen Lichtpulse Einblicke in die Dynamik sehr schneller Reaktionen im Femtosekundenbereich (10–15 Sekunden).

BESSY II zieht jährlich rund 2.500 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus dem In- und Ausland an, die das Großgerät wegen seiner hervorragenden Zuverlässigkeit schätzen. Das Profil von BESSY II wird von diesen Nutzern mitbestimmt. Eine wichtige Rolle nehmen dabei auch institutionelle Nutzer wie die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, die Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und kooperierenden Forschergruppen ein. So ist BESSY II aufgrund der Aktivitäten der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt das europäische Strahlungsnormal zur Kalibrierung von Lichtquellen und Detektoren.

HZB-Experten entwickeln das Großgerät stetig weiter: Seit Herbst 2012 können in einem so genannten Top-Up-Modus während des laufenden Betriebs etwa alle 30 bis 60 Sekunden Elektronenpakete nachgeschossen werden. Dafür wurde ein neuer Vorbeschleuniger vom Typ LINAC eingebaut. Zusätzlich wird die Strahlführung 150-mal pro Sekunde mit dem Fast-Orbit-Feedback nachkorrigiert. Diese Maßnahmen verbessern die Stabilität der empfindlichen Röntgenoptiken und sorgen dafür, dass den Experimentatoren nun eine nahezu konstante Lichtintensität zur Verfügung steht.