Radiation protection at BESSY II

BESSYII, window


Ensuring the personal safety of anyone working with the storage ring is a top priority. The safety measures are construed so as to ensure that the borderline value of one millisievert per year is observed. This value corresponds to natural background radiation. Comprehensive safety measures are in place to ensure radiation exposure inside the experimental hall doesn't go up, even in the top up mode. Furthermore, there are restricted access areas in the outlet systems' immediate vicinity. Any area where beamlines extend from the walls were properly reconfigured back in 2011.

Users are required to carry a radiation pass

Anyone entering the hall during operations is considered a category B radiation exposed individual. Going forward, scientific institutions or companies that wish to do maintenance work at the storage ring, have to meet two requirements: They must sign a coexistence agreement and they will need proper authorization persuant to paragraph 15 of the Radiation Protection Act, which allows them to send their employees to external institutes as radiation protection exposed persons. As well, every single user will be required to carry a radiation pass, which has to be registered with the relevant regulatory body.

Visits without a radiation pass are possible

During BESSY II's hours of operation, no visitors are allowed inside the experimental hall. To ensure access to interested parties without a radiation pass, the control zone is rescinded every other Monday between 8 am and 1 pm. During this time, the facility is switched off for maintenance work and repair.

Strahlenschutz bei BESSY II



Die Sicherheit für die Menschen, die am Speicherring arbeiten, steht an höchster Stelle. Die Sicherheitsmaßnahmen sind so ausgelegt, dass der Grenzwert von einem Millisievert pro Jahr eingehalten wird. Dieser Wert entspricht der natürlichen Untergrundstrahlung. Umfangreiche Sicherheitsvorkehrungen sorgen dafür, dass die Strahlenbelastung in der Experimentierhalle auch im Top-Up-Modus nicht steigt. Außerdem gibt es Sperrbereiche rund um die Auslasssysteme. Die Areale, wo die Strahlrohre aus der Wand kommen, wurden 2011 entsprechend umgebaut.

Nutzer brauchen Strahlenpass

Jeder, der die Halle während des laufenden Betriebs betritt, gilt als beruflich strahlenexponierte Person der Kategorie B. Wissenschaftseinrichtungen oder auch Unternehmen, die am Speicherring Wartungsarbeiten durchführen wollen, müssen künftig folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen: Sie brauchen eine aktuelle Genehmigung nach Paragraph 15 der Strahlenschutzverordnung, die es erlaubt, ihre Mitarbeiter als beruflich strahlenschutzexponierte Person an externe Institute zu schicken. Es muss mit dem HZB einen Abgrenzungsvertrag abgeschlossen werden. Außerdem benötigt jeder einzelne Nutzer einen gültigen Strahlenpass, der bei der zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörde zu registrieren ist.

Besuche ohne Strahlenpass sind möglich

Während BESSY II in Betrieb ist, dürfen Besucher die Experimentierhalle nicht betreten. Um Interessierten ohne Strahlenpass den Zugang zu ermöglichen, wird der Kontrollbereich (SR-Halle)  an Montagen in ungeraden Kalenderwochen von 8 bis 13 Uhr aufgehoben. Zu dieser Zeit wird die Anlage für Reparatur- und Wartungsarbeiten ausgeschaltet.