Helmholtz Virtual Institutes

By establishing new research partnerships, Helmholtz Virtual Institutes provide a distinct benefit in preparing the way for larger strategic research projects. With this funding the Helmholtz Association wants to strengthen the position of universities in the German scientific system. A further aim of the funding programme is to generate new collaboration with leading international partner institutions and the industry.

The Instrument

A Helmholtz Virtual Institute brings together the key competencies of one or more Helmholtz Centres with those of one or more universities to create a centre of excellence of international standing. This serves to create a new quality of cooperation strengthening scientific excellence and increasing international competitiveness. Other national or international partners may be involved as associated partners.

Helmholtz Virtual Institutes have their own executive and management structure and develop special measures to qualify their young researchers. Over a three to five year period, Virtual Institutes receive up to a maximum of 600,000 euros per year from the Initiative and Networking Fund. With this scope Virtual Institutes possess of an ideal size, to prepare the way for larger collaborative networks such as the Helmholtz Alliances.

Six calls for proposals have been completed so far, with grants worth a total of some 129 million euros being awarded to 110 Virtual Institutes in which almost 326 university partners from 67 German universities are actively involved. The share donated to the universities is about 55 million euro.

Helmholtz Virtuelle Institute

Mit der Etablierung neuer Forschungskooperationen leisten Helmholtz Virtuelle Institute Aufbau- bzw. Vorbereitungsarbeiten mit einem erkennbaren Mehrwert für größere strategische Forschungsvorhaben der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Darüber hinaus tragen diese Forschungsverbünde auch zur Stärkung der Hochschulen im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem bei. Ein zusätzliches Anliegen der Fördermaßnahme ist die Einbeziehung herausragender internationaler Partnerinstitutionen und die Kooperation mit der Wirtschaft.

Das Instrument

Ein Helmholtz Virtuelles Institut führt im Kern die Kompetenzen eines oder mehrerer Helmholtz-Zentren mit einer oder mehreren Hochschulen zusammen, um auf einem wichtigen Forschungsgebiet ein Kompetenz-Zentrum von internationaler Bedeutung und Attraktivität zu schaffen. Zusätzliche Partner aus dem In- und Ausland können als assoziierte Partner einbezogen werden. 

Helmholtz Virtuelle Institute verfügen über eine eigene Führungs- und Managementstruktur und erarbeiten besondere Konzepte zur Qualifizierung ihrer wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchskräfte. Sie werden über drei bis fünf Jahre mit maximal 600.000 Euro jährlich aus dem Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds gefördert und können zur Vorbereitung größerer Verbünde wie etwa der Helmholtz-Allianzen genutzt werden.

Im Rahmen der bisherigen sechs Ausschreibungsrunden wurden bzw. werden mit insgesamt fast 129 Millionen Euro 110 Virtuelle Institute gefördert, an denen 326 Hochschulpartner von 67 verschiedenen deutschen Hochschulen beteiligt sind. Davon flossen bzw. fließen rund 55 Millionen Euro an die Hochschulen.