How everything started...

About 100 years ago, in the year 1899, Max Planck (PDF-File, 99kB) discovered a new physical constant, the so-called Planck constant, abbreviated by the letter h, which is also called a quantum of action.

Planck discovered h while working on the emission of radiation of a warm black body. After all attempts failed to explain the radiation spectrum by the known laws of thermodynamics or electrodynamics, he proposed a very peculiar equation. It says that the energy radiated by a "black" body is not radiated continuously but, and this was revolutionary, in small "packages", which he called quanta. The energy of these quanta is the product of the frequency ν (Greek nu) of the radiation and the Planck constant.

E = h × ν

The frequency ν is a quantity, which is measured in units "per second" or 1/s. The quantum of action h is measured in the units of Joule × seconds (Js), which is the work (unit J) times the duration (unit s) of its action, which is the reason for the name of this constant. It has a very small value of h = 6.626*10-34 Js.

If one multiplies the frequency ν of a radiation by its propagation velocity v, one gets its wavelength λ as: λ = ν × v. One of the consequences of the equation is that the radiation with a short wavelength has a higher energy than the one with a longer wavelength.

The Gate to the Quanta

Wie alles anfing

Vor etwa 100 Jahren, im Jahr 1899,  entdeckte Max Planck (PDF-Datei, 99kB) eine neue physikalische Konstante: das später nach ihm benannte Wirkungsquantum - abgekürzt mit dem Buchstaben h.

Planck entdeckte h, als er über die Emission von Strahlung eines warmen schwarzen Körpers arbeitete. Nachdem alle Versuche gescheitert waren, das Strahlungsspektrum aus thermodynamischen oder  elektrodynamischen Gesetzen zu erklären, stellte Planck eine ganz eigenartige Gleichung auf. Sie beschreibt, dass die Energie, die ein "schwarzer" Körper aussendet, nicht kontinuierlich, sondern - und das war das revolutionäre an der Überlegung - in kleinen "Paketen", die er Quanten nannte, abgestrahlt wird. Die Energie E dieser Quanten berechnet sich aus dem Produkt der Frequenz ν (griech. nü) der Strahlung mit dem Wirkungsquantum h:

E = h x ν

Die Frequenz ν ist eine Größe, die in Einheiten "pro Sekunde" oder 1/s gemessen wird. Das Wirkungsquantum wird mit dem Produkt der Einheiten Joule x Sekunden (J x s) gemessen, also der Dauer (Einheit s), die eine Arbeit (Einheit J) wirkt; daher rührt der Name für diese Konstante. Dies ist eine sehr, sehr kleine Größe, sie misst nur 6,626*10-34Js.

Multipliziert man die Frequenz der Strahlung ν mit deren Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit v erhält man ihre Wellenlänge λ: λ = ν x v. Aus E = h x ν folgt, dass kurzwellige Strahlung energiereicher ist als langwellige.

Tor zu den Quanten