Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry (HEMF)

The HZB is establishes laboratories for synthesising energy materials and coordinates the Helmholtz-wide laboratory platform HEMF

Researchers want to develop new materials for our future energy supply that produce and store electricity efficiently and cleanly. This poses an enormous challenge – and requires a joint effort. The Helmholtz Association is now investing 46 million euros in the creation of a large laboratory platform for the production (synthesis) of energy materials. These materials should contribute to the success of the energy turnaround.

HEMF

Six Helmholtz Centres are involved in establishing the “Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry” (HEMF). The HZB is coordinating the project and contributing substantially towards setting up Helmholtz-wide laboratories.

 


Photo: F. Kochanski

Ultra-modern laboratories for material synthesis at the HZB Wannsee campus

On the HZB’s Wannsee campus, there is active planning for a new high-tech lab: Opposite the E-building, a HEMF laboratory is being set up for the development and synthesis of novel energy materials.

“Planned for the HZB are, in particular, synthesis laboratories in which perovskite thin films, catalytically active nanoparticles and thin films for producing solar fuels can be produced. Facilities are also being set up for nanostructuring of materials,” says Roel van de Krol. He is head of the HZB Institute for “Solar Fuels” and for the coordination of the Helmholtz project HEMF. In April 2016, the HZB gained renowned researcher Catherine Dubourdieu to set up one of the most advanced labs for materials synthesis.

Laboratory platforms will make the Helmholtz Centres highly demanded cooperation partners

The Helmholtz Centres involved are setting up a series of laboratories that will all complement one another excellently. The scientific focus is on materials systems that convert or store energy. These include, for example, solar fuels, solar cells, fuel cells, battery systems, and thermoelectric and thermochemical materials. One overarching theme is novel catalysts used in energy conversion and storage.

“With the HEMF platform, the Helmholtz Association is strengthening its competences in the synthesis of materials indispensable for the energy turnaround. The platform will also draw in new, attractive cooperation partners who are pursuing the same research goals,” says Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, scientific director of the HZB.

Laboratories for the international user community and industry

Not only in-house researchers will be working in the joint HEMF laboratories for energy materials. The Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin and other Helmholtz Centres are also keeping their labs open to the international user community. The laboratories will accordingly be available to research groups from universities, non-university research establishments and industry.

Helmholtz Centres involved

> HEMF Website

Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry (HEMF)

HZB baut Labore für die Synthese von Energie-Materialien auf und koordiniert die Helmholtz-weite Labor-Plattform HEMF

Forscherinnen und Forscher wollen neue Materialien für die zukünftige Energieversorgung entwickeln, die Strom effizient und umweltfreundlich erzeugen und speichern. Das ist eine enorme Herausforderung - und sie bedarf einer gemeinsamen Kraftanstrengung. 46 Millionen Euro investiert die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft nun in den Aufbau einer großen Labor-Plattform für die Herstellung (Synthese) von Energie-Materialien. Diese Materialien sollen zum Gelingen der Energiewende beitragen.

HEMF Schaubild beteiligte Institutionen

Am Aufbau der „Helmholtz Energy Materials Foundry“ (kurz: HEMF) sind sechs Helmholtz-Zentren beteiligt. Das HZB koordiniert das Projekt und trägt einen wesentlichen Teil zum Aufbau der Helmholtz-weiten Labore bei.


Vakkum

Foto: F. Kochanski

Modernste Labore für die Materialsynthese am HZB-Campus Wannsee

Auf dem Campus Wannsee des HZB laufen die Planungen für ein neues Hightech-Labor: Gegenüber dem E-Gebäude wird ein HEMF-Labor für die Entwicklung und Synthese von neuartigen Energie-Materialien errichtet.

„Am HZB sind insbesondere Synthese-Labore geplant, in denen Perowskit-Dünnschichten, Nanopartikel mit katalytischer Wirkung und Dünnschichten für die Erzeugung von solaren Brennstoffen hergestellt werden können. Außerdem werden Einrichtungen für die Nanostrukturierung von Materialien aufgebaut“, sagt Roel van de Krol. Er ist Leiter des HZB-Instituts für „Solare Brennstoffe“ und für die Koordination des Helmholtz-Projektes HEMF verantwortlich. Für den Aufbau eines der modernsten Labore für die Materialsynthese konnte das HZB im April 2016 die renommierte Forscherin Catherine Dubourdieu gewinnen.

 

Mit Labor-Plattform werden die Helmholtz-Zentren zu gefragten Kooperationspartnern

Die beteiligten Helmholtz-Zentren bauen eine Reihe von Laboratorien auf, die sich sehr gut ergänzen werden. Der wissenschaftliche Fokus liegt dabei auf Materialsystemen, die Energie umwandeln oder speichern. Das sind zum Beispiel solare Brennstoffe, Solarzellen, Brennstoffzellen, Batteriesysteme sowie thermoelektrische und thermochemische Materialien. Ein übergreifendes Thema sind auch neuartige Katalysatoren, die bei der Energieumwandlung und -speicherung eingesetzt werden.

„Mit der HEMF-Plattform verstärkt die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ihre Kompetenzen in der Materialsynthese von Werkstoffen, die für die Energiewende unverzichtbar sind. Die Plattform wird zugleich neue attraktive Kooperationspartner anziehen, die die gleichen Forschungsziele verfolgen“, sagt Anke Kaysser-Pyzalla, wissenschaftliche Geschäftsführerin des HZB.

Labore für die internationale Nutzergemeinschaft und Industrie

Nicht nur die eigenen Forscherinnen und Forscher werden in den gemeinsamen HEMF-Laboren für Energie-Materialien arbeiten. Das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin und die anderen Helmholtz-Zentren öffnen die Labore auch für die internationale Nutzergemeinschaft. So werden die Labore Forschergruppen aus Universitäten, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen und der Industrie zur Verfügung stehen.

Beteiligte Helmholtz-Zentren

> HEMF Webseite