Neutrons for research on condensed matter

Neutron guide hall

The neutron source BER II delivers both cold and thermic neutrons for use in research. Laboratory infrastructure, highly specialized sample environments, and expert scientific support are available to both individual researchers and a global user community. In-house research at the HZB focuses increasingly on materials for energy conversion or future information technologies.

Instruments

After an evaluation in 2013, BER II will offer the best internationally most competitive instruments to the user community, including EXED/HFM and NEAT II (beginning in 2015), powerful diffractometers, as well as instruments for high-resolution neutron spectroscopy.

User operation

Each year, approx. 4,000 hours of user operations, 200 measuring guests, and 100 publications. BER II is used by the Helmholtz programs MML, SCI, EMR, FIT, as well as for various cross-programme activities.

Future

BER II will be used scientifically through January 1, 2020. Beginning in 2015, EXED, the new 25-32 tesla high-field magnet, and NEAT II, the new time-of-flight spectrometer, will start operations.

Contributions of HZB organisational units:

Operation BER II

Neutronen für die Erforschung kondensierter Materie

Neutronen für die Materialforschung

Neutronenleiterhalle

Die Neutronenquelle BER II liefert kalte und thermische Neutronen für die Forschung. Laborinfrastruktur, hochspezialisierte Probenumgebung und wissenschaftliche Begleitung durch Experten stehen für die Eigenforschung und eine weltweite Nutzergemeinschaft zur Verfügung. Die HZB-Eigenforschung fokussiert zunehmend auf Materialien für die Energieumwandlung oder für Informationstechnologien der Zukunft.

Instrumente

Nach der Evaluierung 2013 bietet BER II die besten, international konkurrenzfähigen Instrumente, darunter EXED/HFM und NEAT II (ab 2015), leistungsfähige Diffraktometer sowie Instrumente für die hochauflösende Neutronenspektroskopie.

Nutzerbetrieb

Jährlich rund 4.000 Stunden Nutzerbetrieb mit 200 Messgästen und 100 resultierenden Publikationen. BER II wird durch die Helmholtz-Programme MML, SVI, EMR, FIT und verschiedene Querschnittsaktivitäten genutzt.

Zukunft

BER II wird bis zum 1. Januar 2020 wissenschaftlich genutzt. Ab 2015 gehen mit EXED der Hochfeldmagnet (25–32 Tesla) und das Flugzeitspektrometer NEAT II in Betrieb.

Beiträge der beteiligten HZB Organisationseinheiten

Betrieb BER II