Young Investigator Group: Electrochemical Conversion of CO2

The Electrochemical Conversion of CO2 group is researching how carbon dioxide and water can be converted electrochemically into hydrocarbons such as methane and methanol using renewable energies. 
 
Researchers are faced with the major challenge of developing new solutions for reducing the harmful emissions of carbon dioxide into our environment. One feasible solution is to use clean energy that will convert carbon dioxide and water electrochemically into hydrocarbons such as methane, methanol and ethylene, which are important raw materials for the chemical industry. The biggest hurdle will be improving the energy efficiency, reaction rates and yields from CO2 catalysis.
 
The research group is designing novel electrocatalyst materials possessing heterogeneous bimetallic surfaces. Using advanced spectroscopy and spectrometry techniques, we observe catalytic processes in situ in order to reveal detailed chemical information about the catalyst–molecule interactions in real time. This will produce new insights into guided catalyst design, catalytic mechanisms and principles of cell design, insights which will help to reveal the potential of electrochemical CO2 reduction as a technology for producing valuable hydrocarbons.
 
See below for current job vacancies. Interested prospective students (Master's or PhD) or postdocs are always welcome to contact us at EE-NECC-head@helmholtz-berlin.de on a rolling basis. Please provide a motivation letter and CV.
 

Vacancies

    No open positions at the time.
vacancies HZB

Nachwuchsgruppe: Elektrochemische Umwandlung von CO2

Die Nachwuchsgruppe Elektrochemische Umwandlung von CO2 untersucht, wie Kohlendioxid und Wasser elektrochemisch in Kohlenwasserstoffe wie Methan und Methanol unter Verwendung erneuerbarer Energien umgewandelt werden können.
 
Die Forschung steht vor der großen Herausforderung, neue Lösungsansätze zur Reduzierung des klimaschädlichen Ausstoßes von Kohlenstoffdioxid zu entwickeln. Eine Möglichkeit  ist es, die erneuerbare Energien zu nutzen, um Kohlenstoffdioxid und Wasser elektrochemisch umzuwandeln. Dadurch sollen Kohlenwasserstoffe wie Methan, Methanol oder Ethylen entstehen, die wichtige Rohstoffe für die chemische Industrie sind. Die größte Herausforderung dabei ist, die Energieeffizienz, die Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit und die Ausbeute bei der CO2-Katalyse zu verbessern.
 
Die Forschungsgruppe entwerfen neuartige Elektrokatalyse-Materialien mit heterogenen Bimetall-Oberflächen. Unter Verwendung von Synchrotron-, Röntgen- und Photoelektronenspektroskopie beobachten wir katalytische Prozesse in situ, um detaillierte chemische Informationen über die Wechselwirkungen des Katalysator-Moleküls in Echtzeit zu vermitteln. Dies wird neue Einblicke in die geführte Katalysatorgestaltung, die katalytischen Mechanismen und die Prinzipien der Zellgestaltung, Einsichten, die dazu beitragen sollen, das Potential der elektrochemischen CO2-Reduktion als Technologie zur Herstellung von wertvollen Kohlenwasserstoffen zu vermitteln.
 
See below for current job vacancies. Interested prospective students (Master's or PhD) or postdocs are always welcome to contact us at EE-NECC-head@helmholtz-berlin.de on a rolling basis. Please provide a motivation letter and CV.
 

Stellenangebote

    Leider haben wir zur Zeit keine freien Stellen zu vergeben.
Stellenangebote des HZB